people's will, was made completely responsible in form as it had already been in fact.

The increased volume of immigration necessitated heavier expenditures upon education, public works and local administration. It was impossible to introduce municipal organizations into many districts outside the limits of the denser settlements. The result was to impose excessive burdens upon the territorial government. Financial embarrassments gave rise to constitutional aspirations. Finally, after a prolonged agitation, the Saskatchewan and Alberta Acts (4-5 Edw. VII, cc. 42 and 43), provided for the erection on September 1st, 1905, of two provinces, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Provincial Constitutions.—Each of the three provinces has a Lieutenant-Governor, appointed by the Dominion Government, who holds office for five years. Within his term he is not removable except for cause assigned, communicated to him in writing. His powers are exercised in accordance with the principles of responsible government, with the advice and consent of the provincial cabinet. Each province also, has in its cabinet a Minister of Public Works, an Attorney-General, a Minister of Agriculture, a Provincial Treasurer, a Minister of Education and a Provincial Secretary. More than one department or sub-department is frequently under one responsible minister. In addition each province has a Legislature consisting of the Lieutenant-Governor and the Legislative Assembly. There must be a yearly session. Though the Assembly may be dissolved at any time it must not continue longer than a fixed period of years after a general election.

1.-Manitoba.

Municipal Government.—The stages in the growth of municipal institutions in Manitoba are marked by the legislation of the years 1871, 1873, 1882 and 1900. In 1871, the County Assessment Act and the Parish Assessment Act made provision for dealing with local finance. An Act of 1873 provided for the erection of a local municipality in districts containing not less than 30 freeholders. In 1883, the province was divided into 26 counties and 3 judicial districts. Then, by the General Municipal Act of 1900, every city, town, village and rural municipality became a body corporate. Over all of these bodies, excepting cities having separate charters of incorporation, is the supervision of a department of Municipal Affairs. By legislation enacted in 1921, a Tax Commission was established in order to improve the standard of municipal assessment throughout the province, and especially in rural areas where some laxity had existed.

A feature peculiar to local government in Manitoba is the "Improvement District," that portion of a rural municipality or incorporated village formed into a particular territory to provide for local improvements. It differs in both nature and functions from the improvement districts of Saskatchewan and Alberta. In general, the other forms of municipal organization are the rural municipalities villages, towns and cities.

School Districts.—The most elementary and in many ways the most important unit of self-government on the prairies is the school district, the local organization for the support and administration of educational affairs. Its individual character depends largely on whether it is a rural, village, town, city or consolidated district, but the most common of these, the rural district, is governed by a board of three trustees elected by the ratepayers for three years, one being elected and one retiring annually. Still another form also exists, the rural municipality school organization, an aggregation of rural schools under one board of trustees.